INA is pleased to announce an award to recognize the most promising young investigator at its annual congress each year.

We are happy to announce that this year as well, the winner will receive a prize of 500 Euros.

To qualify for the Fanaroff Young Investigators Award:

  • Abstract presenter should be in training or within 5 years of completing training
  • A signed document confirming the above mentioned status by the head of department should be sent to the conference secretariat: [email protected]
  • Application should be sent to the conference secretariat no later than 30 August 2022 to: [email protected]
  • Registration payment should be completed by 30 August 2022
  • Abstract presenters must be present during the closing ceremony.
  • The Scientific Committee will announce the winner at the closing ceremony 

The award draws inspiration from Dr. Av Fanaroff who is the founding President of INA, a lifelong academician, and an inspiration for us all.

Avroy A. Fanaroff, M.D. Professor Emeritus, Dr. “Av” Fanaroff was born and educated in South Africa. He joined Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital as a fellow in Neonatology in 1969. He is a pioneer in Neonatology and has been recognized as such internationally. He has received many honorary degrees and awards including educational awards and the prestigious Apgar Award from the American Academy of Pediatrics. He served as chairman of the department of pediatrics from 2004 to 2008 after serving 23 years as Rainbow’s Director of Neonatology.

Dr. Fanaroff was a founding member of the NICHD Neonatal research Network and is globally acknowledged as an international authority in the field of neonatology, and has contributed greatly to literature in the area of neonatal medicine, with particular focus on pulmonology, nutrition, and sepsis. He served as editor of the Yearbook of Neonatology for 30 years and is co-editor of Neonatology at a Glance now in its third edition. He is co-editor of Fanaroff and Martin’s Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, 11th Edition and Klaus and Fanaroff’s Care of the High-Risk Neonate edited by Fanaroff and Fanaroff, 7th edition in Progress.

He served on the Board of University Hospitals Health System as well as on the Executive Committee of the Board of the American Board of Pediatrics. Amongst the thousands of physicians employed in the University Hospitals System he was the second physician to receive the annual “Physicians Recognition Award” for outstanding service to the hospital. He has also received an honorary fellowship from the Royal College of Pediatrics and Child Health in London and honorary doctorates from the University of the Witwatersrand (his alma mater) and the University of Turku, Finland.

We are delighted that this award will attract high caliber early career neonatologists from around the globe to participate in INA scientific deliberations each year.

Lucky Jain, MD
INA President